Kendal Town Council

The Wainwright Achievement Award 2017

Congratulations to Mrs Diane Horner, winner of The Wainwrights Achievement Award 2017

In June 1989, Alfred Wainwright donated £10,000 to the Town Mayor and Councillors of Kendal Town Council to be held in a Charitable Trust.  Each year the Trustees of the charity seek to present an award to “the person, or persons, club, association, society or other local body (political activities excluded), who, or which, in the opinion of the Administrators of the Trust, has done most during the year to promote the prestige of Kendal, or has contributed significantly to the betterment of its inhabitants”.

The Wainwright Award for 2017 was presented to Mrs Diane Horner by the Mayor of Kendal on Monday 5 March 2018.

Mrs Horner was nominated for the Award by Councillor Alvin Finch in recognition of her work as Chair/Secretary of the Kirkbarrow Residents Association.

In his nomination, Alvin highlighted how Diane organises regular litter picks around the estate.  She fundraises, sends in numerous grant applications and then organises a variety of activities throughout the summer and half term breaks for the young people of Kirkbarrow, i.e. Sports Sessions, Fun Days, Dance & Theatre Workshops.  Diane keeps everyone updated on highways issues, road signs, health and safety and school news and organises regular monthly meetings where representatives from many organisations give updates and reports.  She encourages community engagement and works extremely hard for the residents of Kirkbarrow, helping to keep her local community safe, and through her hard work and commitment she has helped reduce anti-social behaviour and improve community spirit.

We are also pleased to note that, in July 2017, Diane was awarded by Peter McCall, the South Cumbria Police & Crime Commissioner, his Outstanding Citizen Award for making a difference in the Community.

Accompanied by friends and colleagues from the Residents Association, Mrs Horner accepted the Award at a short presentation during the Town Council meeting.