Kendal Town Council

Kendal Town Council

Kendal Town Council is the third tier of Local Government for Kendal. Immediately above the Town Council is South Lakeland District Council and above this is Cumbria County Council.

There are ten electoral wards within Kendal and up to four councillors are elected for each ward. Councillors are usually elected for a term of four years, except where a by-election is held. Town Councillors are unpaid public servants and the 28 councillors of Kendal meet in full Council on the first of each month. These evening meetings are held in the Council Chamber at the Town Hall and are open to the public and the press.

The Mayor for 2019-2020 is Councillor Alvin Finch. Deputy Mayor is Councillor Doug Rathbone.

Image supplied by Westmorland Gazette


Kendal Town Council host a number of Civic Occasions throughout the year including:

Mayor Making – held on the third Thursday in May.

Mayor’s Sunday – held on the first Sunday in July.

Remembrance Sunday – held on the second Sunday in November.

In addition there is usually a Civic Reception held in the Town Hall on the evening of Kendal Torchlight Carnival.

At all events distinguished guests and dignitaries are welcomed from around Cumbria and Kendal’s Twinned Towns, Rinteln and Killarney.

Kendal Climate Change Citizens’ JuryHelp plan a response to climate change

In April 2019, Kendal Town Council declared a climate emergency. We now want to take the next step and find out what the public thinks.

A Citizens’ Jury will help do this by planning a response to climate emergency. Citizens Juries have been run all over the world to help figure out what to do about really big difficult problems.

In order to launch a Kendal Climate Change Citizens’ Jury we need to raise £6,000, so please help by clicking the button below and donating.

Donate and find out more about Kendal Climate Change Citizens’ Jury