Kendal Town Council

Your Committees

Committee Membership




Town Council business except Planning
Every two months. First Monday. Also first Monday in June. All Councillors
Policy and resources, budgeting, administration and staffing
Development & Training        Project monitoring
Alternate first Monday of the month
9 Members

S.Coleman (Chair) D.Rathbone (Vice Chair)
J. Dunlop (Mayor and Chair Mayoralty & Heritage)
A. Finch (Chair of Allotments), H. Ladhams (Chair of Culture and Communities)
E. Hennessy (Chair of Environment )
A. Blackman (Chair of Kendal in Bloom), S. Long (Kendal Futures rep),
C Russell (Chair of Audit)
Management, inspection & development of allotments
Quarterly 6 Members + 3   co-opted Members (on a rotational basis)

A. Finch (Chair), G. Archibald (Vice Chair)
J. Cornthwaite, L. Edwards, C. Hardy, L Hendry
Oversees Council’s Audit and Governance arrangements including Auditor’s reports, Health & Safety and Risk Assessments
Quarterly 8 Members

C Russell (Chair), J. Dunlop,  D. Rathbone (Vice-Chair),
M. Helme, L. Edwards, S. Coleman, D. Evans
Kendal in Bloom
Kendal in Bloom
Cumbria in Bloom
Floral displays  Community projects
Quarterly 5 Members + 5 co-opted Members

A. Blackman (Chair),  R.Sutton (Vice-Chair),
L. Hendry, D. Brown, One Vacancy 
Culture and Communities
Community grants and policies, Christmas Lights and School of Science & Art Charity
Quarterly 9 Members

H. Ladhams (Chair), M. Helme (Vice-Chair)
C. Russell, R. Sutton, K. Simpson, P. Thornton, S Long, L. Edwards, R. Edwards
Parks & open spaces; Climate Change
Footpaths and Cycle Routes
Seats, lighting, litter bins and bus shelters
Every two months 9 Members

E. Hennessy (Chair), G. Archibald (Vice Chair)
S. Long,  M. Helme, D. Brown, K Simpson, S. Blunden, J. Cornthwaite, C. Russell
Mayoralty and Heritage
Mayoralty & Mayor’s Parlour presentations
Ceremonies & civic occasions      Town Council’s artefact collection
Collection and retention policy
Display and storage of our heritage
Kendal Museum
Quarterly 9 Members

 J. Dunlop (Chair), J. Cornthwaite (Vice-chair)
J. Brook, G. Tirvengadum, S. Coleman, L. Hendry,
M. Severn, D. Rathbone.



Planning applications
and consultations related to Town and Country Planning, spatial planning and development
Twice Monthly
1st & 3rd Mondays
9 Members

D. Rathbone (Chair), H.Ladhams (Vice-Chair),
D. Miles, L. Edwards, R. Edwards, A Finch,

J. Cornthwaite, A. Campbell, G.Supka


Planning Committee Minutes
  • Reviews planning applications